The Obligatory “end-of-year” Post

I can’t believe I’ve kept up this blog for eight months!

I started this blog at the behest of one of my teachers that’s remarked on my writing ability and unique viewpoints. I have a need to contribute to the yoga community, but not ready to teach yet. This blog isn’t meant to be the last word on anything; its mostly a space for me to write and figure things out.

My number one intention with this blog is to share my practice and share what I’ve figured out so far. Yoga is one of the very few things I’ve done where googling doesn’t help when I need advice on something, so I’ve tried to put together articles around subjects I’ve unsuccessfully tried to research. I’ve found there isn’t much advice applicable to me regarding yoga clothes for men, practice around dental work, treating a yoga mat as a prop, or reasons not to teach yoga/complete teacher training, so I shared what I figured out.

I’ve also developed a couple of series of posts; The Secret Menu, which deals with discovering new uses for props, and an unnamed series where I share progress in my personal practice and studies. I also enjoy sharing related media that’s stuck to me like gum on a shoe, whether its an article, video, or podcast.

My top “yoga writing” goals for 2017 are to write more detailed long-form pieces and define a target audience for my writing. I feel most of my posts are concise, but could be expanded upon, and having a target audience that I’m writing to could help with that.

Thank you for allowing me to share my practice.

Leave a comment